The Girl Before - J.P. Delaney

The Girl Before

By J.P. Delaney

  • Release Date: 2017-01-24
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 1,523 Ratings

Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in Cabin 10, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman’s seemingly good fortune, and another woman’s mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD

Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.

The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.

EMMA
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant—and it does.

JANE
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space—and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home’s previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.

Praise for The Girl Before

“Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning—a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense.”—Lee Child

The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we’re not provided either woman’s answers.”—The New York Times

“J. P. Delaney builds the suspense.”Vanity Fair

“Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there’s not only more where that came from, but it’s also more thrilling.”American Booksellers Association

Reviews

  • The Girl Before

    1
    By Tykesma
    This book started out as a good read! It quickly tumbled as one of the worst books I have read! Too much vulgarity and unnecessary sex descriptions! Further it degrades women. It pictures us as needy and unable to stand on our own two feet! In my opinion a waste of time and money!
  • The girl before

    5
    By Pjfletch
    Really good book.
  • P

    3
    By bonnckuc
    Funkkm Ccjjjjjvb Kui c bi
  • Great!!!!!

    5
    By Lauuura84
    Really good book!!
  • A thriller that builds with each turn of the page...

    4
    By Kiarra Monique
    1. I am so glad to see that this book is being made into a film. Can't wait! 2. This book was SO very good. I could rave on and on and on about it, but I wouldn't want to become cumbersome--Edward wouldn't like that--(insider), so I'll just say that if you enjoy thrillers that build LITERALLY as you turn each page, this book is for Y O U! 3. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because of the drop at the end of the book and the ending itself! I wanted more, but am satisfied with what I got when it all comes down to it. 4. This review is in the form of a list because Edward would like it neatly arranged, just so. :)
  • The Girl Before

    5
    By Queqeg
    I loved the book. It is well written by a very gifted writer. Stay with it. The book asked many questions. It left me with a question of my own. How shall the young remain sinless?/Psalm 119:9 Who wants to remain sinless 00000 Obeying God's Word Fill in the circle that best suits you. Who wants to be sinless far left. Obeying God's Word far right.
  • I couldn't put it down!

    5
    By K.B.13
    This book is such a page turner! A must read.
  • Almost great

    4
    By Susycm
    Loved the description of the architectural philosophy of Monkford. Also very good character development of him. Really kept me turning the pages. Great format of 2 women's story's in alternating chapters. One criticism, which I have encountered on another book lately, (The Weight of Blood)...slowly builds suspense until the key plot revelation...then it seems hurried to the end...as though they've run out of ideas. Definitely worth reading regardless.
  • Just OK

    2
    By talllean78
    MEH
  • Can't wait for the film adaption

    5
    By FaithFilled&Thankful75!
    When a book can pull you in so much you are playing out the movie in your head and picking out the characters, I'm already waiting patiently for the next novel. Loved the plot and the way the author pulls you along, right till the very end, and still you really have no clue what the end really looks like. Thoroughly enjoyed this one!

Comments