Earthrise - M.C.A. Hogarth

Earthrise

By M.C.A. Hogarth

  • Release Date: 2014-07-23
  • Genre: Adventure
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 103 Ratings

Description

Reese Eddings has enough to do just keeping her rattletrap merchant vessel, the TMS Earthrise, profitable enough to pay food for herself and her micro-crew. So when a mysterious benefactor from her past shows up demanding she rescue a man from slavers, her first reaction is to say “NO!” And then to remember that she sort of promised to repay the loan. But she doesn’t remember signing up to tangle with pirates and slavers over a space elf prince...

Book 1 of the Her Instruments trilogy is a rollicking space operatic adventure set in the Pelted Paradox universe.

Cover art by Julie Dillon.

Reviews

  • Outstanding

    5
    By Shoes rock!!!12
    This book is well-written, imaginative, and compelling. The characters come alive. Fans of Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, and Rob Thurman rejoice— here is an author you will enjoy,
  • Charming spacey romance

    4
    By NotBrightEnough
    I don't usually read romances but this was engaging enough for me to finish.
  • Enjoyable

    4
    By KeepersUniverse
    Over all very enjoyable. Fun universe. Although I wished that there had been some more descriptions of some of the alien races.
  • An Unexpected Delight

    5
    By Impassioned Gods
    I only recently found the series, although it appears the last book has been published for several years. I highly enjoyed it, and found that the story works best when considered next to the other counterparts in the saga. If you decide to read the first one, read all the way to the last one. It is not an experience you will regret, and the build up from the very first page is extremely satisfying and immensely worth it. If you like space opera with slow and steady character development, give it a shot!
  • Good first in series

    4
    By Archangel Beth
    Good science-fantasy. The basic premise is a familiar one: the ragtag merchant-ship that needs money and gets mixed up in danger because of it. But there are a lot of permutations on the basic, and this one gets some good ones. In particular, the entire crew are basically aliens, with Reese -- Martian-born -- the only human representative. And the very first thing they need to do is rescue a "space elf" -- member of a secretive species of touch-telepaths, who also happens to be a well-trained doctor. Good thing, too, with all the trouble the ship's heading for... The ending is not a cliffhanger, and you could stop here if you really wanted, but there are enough loose ends that the next two books will be welcome.

Comments